Vikings 20th Anniversary Gala Dinner
Date of Event Sorrento Duncraig Senior Cricket Club: Wed Feb 27, 2019 8:08PM
Members of both the 1st and 2nd Team's of the Decade take the stage at Crown Towers

(Please note, a link to the full details of awards winner and nominees can be found at the end of this article).


Saturday the 16th of Feb is a date now etched in time for the Vikings.  It was the date that we marked 20 years as a club with our 20th Anniversary Gala Dinner.  150 guests mixed outside the Crown Towers Ballroom for pre-dinner drinks before entering the grand surrounds of the ballroom.


First, we were welcomed by the best host a club could hope for, Isaac Bavcevic.  This guy has a way with words and a comfortability on the stage and with Mic in hand that oozes professionalism.   He prepares studiously and for years now has ensured that our club functions go off without a hitch.




Well there was one hitch, that was out of iBav’s control.   A broken elevator meant that he would abandon the next item on the run sheet, the buffet.  Instead, Isaac, congratulated Venrock Finance who were the winners of our event partner raffle and we enjoyed a tongue in cheek video from the team.   To buy a little more time the two Presidents who have led the club for almost its entire existence were invited to say a few words.


Firstly, club co-founder, life member and President (2000/01 to 2008/9) Glen Hinkley had the audience in the palm of his hand as he regaled us with the stories of how the club was founded and progressed in to its formative years.   The story of our club is par of our history and something that some of our newest members both weren’t aware of and thoroughly enjoyed hearing about.


Next, we heard from life member and President (2009/10 to current) Darryn Smith who commenced by thanking Glen and co-founder Mat Buttsworth for their vision in establishing the club.  He went on to recognise the club culture and passion that both Glen and Mat created, that is still present today.   We heard about the remarkable growth both on and off the field, and the positive community work that the club has been doing with both the Movember Foundation and the McGrath Foundation.




At the conclusion of these speeches the crowd enjoyed a quality video from Daniel Njegich, who prepared all the media content enjoyed on the night, that captured our Pink Stumps fundraising day from January, before being invited to enjoy the buffet.


After a break to enjoy the amazing catering of one of Perth’s premier function venues, the crowd was hushed for the presentation of awards for the best individual performances of the decade.


First was the Bowling Performance of the Decade to be presented by the past winner, life member and sponsor from LifeNet WA Financial Advice, assisted by Tony Herbert of Challenge Batteries and Alan Knell of Centrewest Insurance Brokers.   Finalists for this award included Jack Leekong, Rik Tyson and Adam Cooper.  The winner was class leg spinner Russell Hawley for his 2011/12 A grade season of 56 wickets @ 11.68 which included 5 x 5 wicket hauls.




Next was the Batting Performance of the Decade presented by former winner Darryn Smith with club Platinum Sponsor Jarrad O’Rourke of O’Rourke Realty Investments.  Finalists for this award were Alex Wood, Rodney Dunstan, Ben Ranford and Mark Foreman.  The winner was Shane Paap for his 2009/10 A grade season of 705 runs @ 58.78, a season that included a high score of 132.




The All-Round Performance of the Decade was next in line being presented by former winner Glen Hinkley with Scott Traeger of Traeger Electrical & Communications.   Ross Holdman, Shane Paap and Peter Morris were on the shortlist, but the winner was Tim Dayman for his body of work over the decade.  A body that included 125 Matches, 5 Premierships, 3155 Runs @ 29.76, HS 154, 253 Wickets at 12.91, BB of 7-31 and 76.5 dismissals.




And finally, we had the Finals Performance of the Decade with past winner Adam Cooper joined on stage by Greg Reilly of Tricrest Construction to present the gong.   Finalists here were Mark Foreman, Andrew Gamble, Roy Brackenreg and Ben Ranford.   Shane Paap got the nod to collect his 2nd award of the evening for his remarkable bowling performance in the 2012/13 A Grade Grand Final where he collected 8-39 as well as making 45 runs.




Another interval, the chance to refresh our beverages and enjoy a never-ending spread of desserts before our Master of Ceremonies directed our attention to the two big screens to commence the announcement and presentation to our second Team of the Decade.


Our MC commenced by informing us that, given more games have been played in the current decade with 12 man playing lists than those with 11, the team was selected as a playing 12, rather than a traditional 11 with a 12th man.


The original team of the decade from 99-09 were introduced and asked to assemble on stage to present to the new team.


The team was announced in batting order as follows: -

  1. Alex Wood (wk)                     7. Dean O’Mara
  2. Lee McDonald                       8. Alister Murrell
  3. Jamie Sajich (vc)                  9.Lincoln George
  4. Tim Dayman                        10. Andrew Jones
  5. Andrew Gamble (C)             11. Paul Edmonds
  6. James Eccles                      12. Michael Hewett


Team of the Decade Captain, Andrew Gamble, was invited tosay a few words and said how proud he is of the club and how honoured he was to be selected in the team.


With the formalities out the way the crowd were left to socialise, dance, have a laugh at the photos on our instafeed and enjoy the biggest night in club history.


Congratulations to all the worth winners.   A full list of nominees and winners can be viewed in our event slide pack HERE.


You can also view the gallery of event pictures can be viewed HERE.







Last updated: Wednesday February 27, 2019 11:58PM



Select Grade:
No records found.