Wind-up 2018/19
Date of Event Sorrento Duncraig Senior Cricket Club: Fri May 3, 2019 12:29PM


On Saturday the 27th of April we wound the clock back for an old school end of season wind-up and to roll a few bowls at the Sorrento Bowls Club.   After the success of the huge 20th Anniversary Gala Dinner at Crown in February, the club had decided a low cost, low key affair was on the cards.

Rod Dunstan and Daniel Njegich were our MC’s for the night and after welcoming all in attendance they began their mixture of verbal sparring and pointed zingers which would carry through the night.

This was a chance to mark the end of another great season for the club and to announce some of the highest (and lowest) individual honours.


After acknowledging centuries posted and five wickets hauls claimed (or 10 if you’re SHANE), for which the worthy recipients received medals in season, we moved on to the unpopular ‘Most Sensitive’ Award.  Handy that one of our MC’s, Rod Dunstan, was on hand as the previous winner and to announce that Reef Samuels was winner for the season to much applause.


The big bat was next up for grabs and we had the winners of the last 6 awards in the room.   Daniel Njegich from last season and Pine Clarke from the previous 5 seasons.  Despite a late rush of votes for Aaron Olow, Matt Kelland got home by just 2 votes.   Testament to this young man’s questionable banter.




On to most ducks, and whilst we had a number of players who all didn’t trouble the scores on 5 occasions this season including Alex Wood, Ali Murrel and Jarryd Parker, the judges thought that given he has won most other awards at the club it was time the Club Captain, Andrew Gamble, name was etched on the trophy.  Prawn not happy?!


The ‘Biggest Salmon’ award goes to the Viking who can easily swim upstream and then dominate as the big fish in a small pond. Last year’s winner and Club Pres, Darryn Smith, presented this to the 2nd most obviously winner of the night…… G Grade skipper Lincoln George.



A newly introduced award this year was the ‘Biggest Pest’ award and despite heads bobbing at the line our JVP Matt Mohr got the nod from the judges.   Apparently one of the worst kept secrets of recent times but Mandy has done well in a very ordinary field.


After a surprisingly brief speech from the Pres in which all of our club volunteers were recognised for the countless hours and passion they bring to the club, it was time to announce our Vikings Young Team of the Year and Vikings Team of the Year.  See below the 2 teams and congratulations to Matt Kelland and Liam Catalfamo as Captain and Vice-Captain of the Young team and to Lincoln George and Peter O’Mara who were also selected as team leaders.







Then to the highest individual honours.  The best First Year Viking award is one which recognises both on and off field contributions.   The recipient is one which adopts our club rules, standards and fits seamlessly in with club culture.  They will have enjoyed a good season on the field, but just as importantly involved themselves socially at the club.  This year we had co-recipients in Brad Hughes and David Sharpe.  Both of these blokes committed strongly to the club in their first season, participated in finals and were regulars at all club social functions.   Congratulations to both Hughesy and Sharpey and also to the Valhalla Club past players group for their sponsorship of this award.


The Phillips/Ranford Trophy for the most improved player is self-explanatory.  We have seen some outstanding winners of this award in the past who have made huge steps from one season to the next.   This year’s winner capped off selection in both the Team of the Year and Young Team of the year with this award after 17 games (6 in the first XI) and increasing his runs tally to 395 runs at the impressive average of 30.38.   At just a week shy of 18 years old Flynn is definitely a player of the future!



We mentioned that Lincoln George winning the Biggest Salmon award was the 2nd most obvious win of the night, with the first being Shane Mitchell taking the highest individual on field honour, Club Champion.   Shane had an outstanding season that included 2 centuries and a club record 10 wicket haul.  From the home and away season Shane posted 469 Runs @ 31.27, took 37 wickets at 8.86 and was a runner away winner.   Congratulations to Gav Higgins, himself a previous winner, who was runner up and to Rodney Dunstan who was 2nd runner up.



Last but most certainly not least was the presentation of the Best Clubman award.    This award is voted on by the extended club committee including executive, playing, coaching, social and general.  This year’s count was as tight as it could possibly get with under treasurer, I grade skipper and regular MC Isaac Bavcevic 2nd runner up on 17 votes, President Darryn Smith on 33 votes and Club Vice President and now 3-time winner Mike Toutountzis on 34 votes.   Back to back awards for Toota, thoroughly deserved!   Unfortunately, Toots was overseas and Nails claimed the award after declaring a redraw.



That’s it, formalities were over and time for a roll……… jack high!


We will be back with a Gala Champions Dinner event in 2020, stay tuned for venue and details!






Last updated: Sunday May 5, 2019 4:08PM



Select Grade:
No records found.